rwd fwd
msg on the dl
random! older
current

let them bleed, let them wash away

24 October 2008
9:59 am

apparently i have entered the phase of the year where i wake up with tori amos songs in my head. the other morning on the way home it was northern lad.

this morning it was precious things.

the radio has been good to me in the way the radio does. wednesday, miki was coercing me to purchase cigarettes since she was out, and i was out, and she and katy were also coercing me into going out after work. FINE i said and threw up my hands. i found a gas station on mapquest, wrote directions down, and promptly left them on my desk. thinking i'd read them well enough to figure my way out, i proceeded to get lost.

i drove down a parkway lined with trees on all sides, curving around a lake and through a neighborhood filled with beautiful houses of all different styles and i decided that there, in that place where i got mildly turned around, is where i'd like to live. there were halloween scarecrows and real on the real jackolanterns and it looked just like life in the movies. eventually i found a major road and on it a gas station. after purchasing a lighter with a chess piece i returned to the car and on my way back through the classic neighborhood, i was listening to a hip hop song about being north in the winter and wanting a little bit of sunshine, to be south, etc. wednesday was definitely a day for being overjoyed, loving life and everything golden.

that night i went uptown to figlio's and drank a couple glasses of wine, they played feist's sea lion woman as i came in and some beekeeper tori song after that, i talked to some random stranger man who came out just as miki and i went out to smoke, and we discussed our individual things, he was drunk and got a text message from his liver informing him he needed to grow up.

why don't you get out? i asked him. go somewhere else. he shrugged.

i only looked at him with those eyes for a moment as he was pretty cute indeed, without a thought i looked, without a thought he was just some other person in the world and i make note of these thoughts and the ease with which they pass because i have certainly grown into some new and comfortable person.

after figlio's we went to chino latino's, sat down, got up again and went to drink. proceeded to drink more wine. i had three glasses over four hours. plenty. it is not often anymore that i am drinking. say it again with me, i have grown into some new and comfortable person.

we closed the bar down, i made new work friends, good conversation and lots of laughs etc and we walked through the streets back to our cars parked along the road. i tried to drive home, driving down some road that should've led me back to hennepin. i don't know if i missed it, i don't know what happened but suddenly i was on some lake road and lost again. twice in one day! i had to laugh. i laughed myself silly as i came through an intersection or two and there, the gas station i'd purchased the lighter with the queen on it

and all this after thinking that morning, again, how things work out: if things hadn't happened the way they did, i wouldn't have been living in my grandmother's house. if i hadn't been living in my grandmother's house, i wouldn't have been working at ny, ny. if i hadn't been working at ny, ny, i wouldn't been required to wear a bowtie thus bringing about my love for them. and if i'd never loved the bowtie i probably wouldn't have found my way here.

i say probably because there is no way to know.

but those were the thoughts i had that morning on the day that i got lost in the afternoon so i would know where i was when i got lost in the evening

if you give a mouse a cookie...

if you wiggle your nose and nothing happens, don't think your magic's gone to waste..

I have built a treehouse
I have built a treehouse
Nobody can see us
it's a you and me house

I've been climbing rocks and stones
been collecting broken bones
I've been swimming across the lakes
just to find this perfect place
I got lost into the woods
I've been covered up in mud
I've been going through a lot
just to find this perfect spot