rwd fwd
msg on the dl
random! older
current

May Day Dream Celebration, you're invited

02 May 2010
9:14 am

Oh, dreams. They've been regaining their strength. Likely because I am reading about archetypes and conjuring up stories. (They've been getting stronger all week. Let's not argue. Okay.)

Mona and her orange-eating wolves.

Aside from that, and what I mean to record, there was last night (I'm not totally awake yet. I'm still in this dream.)

Somewhere in all this, Elise's baby was born. I watched it happen and it was beautiful.

I was in a diner or some other way station. I think I was on my way home. I may have been in my grandmother's house. Likely this is not important.

There was a girl on an adventure. I asked her what she was doing, where she was going. She was on her way up the west coast, driving to Alaska. She was going to Moon Lake (?) following a path set by William Gibson (? well. I at least know where that piece came from.) If you follow the exact path, you reach the water, you can see the Milky Way in the sky. She called it the Milky Way, but obviously it wasn't. But you can see something. You can see it in the sky.

She was excited and still calm. I caught the bug, I caught her joy. I abandoned my plans to go home to go with her. We drove in the late sun. I watched her draw X's on a map and draw lines connecting the X's. This was our path. The marker was running out of ink by the time we got to Alaska. She had to retrace some of her X's.

We were in a busy office. Low ceilings. Papers shuffled around. School clocks and wood paneling. Funny.

"Hello," we said to the man who gave permissions. "We'd like to go out to Moon Lake." The office got quiet. I wonder now, this girl having been there before, why she didn't know how to get past him (oh gosh. structure in my dreams. I am laughing to myself). We claimed we were real estate hunters. Looking to build. We had no credibility, he dismissed us.

We started to walk away to formulate a plan and a young man standing in line behind us winked, he was dressed for the occasion and easily adapted us into his personal plan. He went to the desk and claimed to be our client. He wanted to build a little home on the shores of this lake -- a maddening idea, who would ever want to build there. But the office had its reasons and so, with a raised eyebrow, passed us youngsters through.

It cut like a movie and the three of us were on this beach. She was drawing lines in the sand. Lines and X's and comparing them to her map. I looked all around, the moon was high and bright. The sky was dark and I couldn't see anything but stars. The beach was white, the water was.. white. A milky, bubbly white. Like champagne or the bubbles that clung to the eggs I boiled yesterday afternoon.

There were other people on the beach. Not many. No more than seven. Some of them new, some of them had been there before. I couldn't glimpse any of their details like they were washed in the grey mist. This is how these things--and dreams--go. They were all excited to see someone new. To share this experience. Like a joyful naked group hug where we all come together to share the raw, enthused Truth. (These people had clothes on. As far as I could tell anyway. And they all stood straight backed, serene, much like Mona in my last dream)

The girl shouted, "Over here! Come to me. Stand on this X." She pointed to the X she drawn in the sand, she tapped it with her toe. I did as I was told. She straightened my back, she walked me forward until I was standing in the water, waves rushing up to meet me, she turned me toward the sky

I saw it. What the whole trip had been about, what we had been searching for. Far off in the sky. The words Horsehead Nebula came to mind but it was nothing like that. An intricate figure in the ink, drawn in colors of light -- blue, purple, pink; oh, the pink -- in ways only space can produce. Neon wishes it were this good.

I sucked it in and stared. It was smaller than I'd expected, I guess I was expecting the effects of the Aurora Borealis, but this was something so much larger. It was everything I'd ever wanted. I tried to identify its shape, it seemed to be shifting. Of course, though I could never describe to you the pattern, my mind identified it with an elephant.

Then I was light in the head and light in the body. I fell face forward toward the water, I floated. I was on my hands and knees in the water. The girl and one of the shadow figures stood nearby.

"This has happened before," I said. Referring to the lightness or referring to, I don't know, the whole.

They talked to me then. I can only remember one piece of it. We talked about my back. We talked about the energy that flows through that space. They told me things -- oh the importance of dreams and the things they won't let you remember. They told me things. I stayed on my hands and knees in the water. I listened.

"You're doing it right."

The shadowy figures on the beach stayed mostly still but I could sense their joy and their peace and that they were listening to their own secrets. Shadowy figures on plains like in video games their details don't fully render until you get up in their faces.

This giant fucking bird just walked up the porch roof to my window and stared at me. Got in my face. Grey bird. Beady eyed. Tufts of feathers glinting green and purple. Am I properly rendered to you, bird?

Where was I? On the beach in Alaska. I looked at the sky. It was still there, that thing out in space. Once you've seen it, it doesn't shut off when you look away.

Elise's baby was born. It was beautiful. She was wide eyed and happy. I told her I'd be going back to Alaska someday. I wanted to go soon. I didn't invite her because I knew she wouldn't or couldn't go. But it didn't matter. She had her own joy. It doesn't matter through which filter it passes; through this world or that one

I don't often dream about people I don't know. Strangers. New faces. Are they spirit guides and connections I'm making with other people? Are they new characters my mind is making up? Are they just the fodder of dreams? It doesn't matter

When I die will I be reborn? Will I enter another state, another level, the Kingdom of Heaven or the depths of Hell? Or will all my elements separate and reform it doesn't matter

Today it doesn't matter. Everything is beautiful. We can all be joyful if we listen to the secrets

etc etc. I'm saving the rest of these thoughts for paper. Happy Sunday.