rwd fwd
notes diaryland
random! older
current

Nice Monday

31 January 2022
7:35 am

I think I will spend my morning reading or setting my desk back up - it folds up into a box on the wall and it's been up there since the holidays. Maybe I'll do some paper writing, but I'm feeling nice and I only write here when I'm feeling sour, so I thought I'd write something nice.

Lately I'm drinking water out of a quart jar. Nice. I kind of want to buy one of these purple grow lights but I'm not sure where I would put plants right now. Pretty nice.

Yesterday there was some running around town. It was one of those winter days where you're wearing layers because it's in the 20s, but it's warm in the stores and hot in the car, and it's sunny, so you're shedding layers and by the time you've hit the last stop you're not wearing a coat or even gloves.

But by the time you leave the hidden gem that is the discount foods store, well... now it's after 3, getting on toward 4, and you've cooled down some, so better to pull the gloves back on over the arm warmers and at least loop the scarf once around the neck.

And that's the story of how I couldn't find Sex Criminals vol 4-6 or Maus, which had been on my should-do list long before now, but.. of course it was out of stock at the one store I went to.

In the parking lot at the grocery store I found a 50 cent machine sized figurine of Spider-Man, so I brought it in and placed him just so inside a bouquet of flowers.

I am an overgrown child.

I am sitting in a chair with my legs over the couch arm, with my jug of water in reach, as well as a small cup of coffee and a mug-bowl of lightly cinnamoned flax oatmeal I got at the discount food store. It's amazing how much food gets taken off shelves because it's older than the "best by" date. We don't even call it an expiration date anymore, but still, take it off the shelves. Go to the FDA website. What you learn there will shock you! (I write clickbait now. (But seriously, I had a shock when I learned how long some foods - especially frozen - will last.)) I know I'm guilty of this when it comes to produce if it even looks at me sideways, but if I'm not eating it raw, I'm not whining about it.

There are golden streaks on the wall now. The forecast predicts clouds later or I would consider trying to take this good mood outside somewhere, but for now the rays come in the side window. Hear tell of a box elder bug spotted here, a centipede there. The too-long forecast shrugs with affect and says, "I don't know, 40s maybe?" The weather is no longer predictable.

I slept maybe six or seven hours last night and I'm already on the verge of curling up in these sunbeams so I suspect I will be a sleepy bean later, but YE GODS was it ever glorious. I have been on the verge of murder and/or suicide with the snoring. Dan says it's like when you're in the car and you have to pee, but it's fine until you're on the main road close to home and then it's unbearable.

Well, he's had the consult, and today he's going to call and find out if his insurance has approved the sleep study yet. Honestly they could just ask me instead of doing the study but fine, loop your medical hoops. Then he'll get a cpap and my life will probably change. Genuinely.

Since I've been particularly bothered this week and wasn't feeling well last night, I went to bed by myself. He was going to wait until I was very asleep before he came in. I realized he must have fallen asleep on the couch because I woke up every couplefew hours anyway... but everytime I did I snuggled into my pillow with joy because I didn't have a headache or chunky plastic headphones pressing into my head, and I could tell he was in the other room, but really all I could hear was the sound of a humidifier and fake rain sounds.

Normally I would go get him because it seems unfair to make a 6'6" person sleep on a not-6'6" couch all night, but I thought "just for now I'll be selfish" as I fell back asleep each time.

He finally came in around 6:30-7, shortly after I actually woke up... I don't know. GLORIOUS.

I even had a vaguely good/neutral dream instead of a vaguely stressful one. I can only recall a piece of it, but:

I was about to get on the train that would take me back to my original place in time when a skinny fair-haired man shouted, "Wait, you're from 2021? Why didn't you say so? You're the one who made our banana ale!"

I was reluctant because I didn't want attention, didn't want to miss my train, didn't remember making any "banana ale," and was suddenly very confused about the passage of time. But I let him drag me back into the hallway, into the main room, the walls and furniture made of solid mahogany. He insisted I try their current brew, proud to have me test it. I slurped it out of a bowl and spilled it.

"You know, this actually isn't bad." I started to describe the notes of the drink. He looked at me with suspicion.

There's a chunk of activity I don't remember, but before I left, a display case opened. Everything inside was pale pink and lavender, shimmering: coins, candles, and bones.

Nice.