rwd fwd
notes diaryland
random! older
current

"If this isn't nice, what is?"

29 June 2023
3:12 pm

I am dyyyying. I'm laying here now, but I'm still so amped. I need to take my meds, lol.

Has cassette nostalgia given way to CDs yet? Will we have that? Will tapping finger beats along my phone case burn into my sense memory? It's a very good rectangle, but will it compare to the softly whirring rhythm of a Discman nearby? Will anything come after this? Will I be around to see it?

Listen, I am jazzed. My morning emails told me The Mars Volta is coming in September, and it immediately seemed like something for which I could get off my ass and anxiety for.

Rather than buying my own ticket, I found out John already has an extra, so I'm just going to buy that and go with him. I haven't seen him in a long time. Only two or three times since he moved back. I guess I saw him briefly a year ago, but that was it.

ANYWAY he also informed me that I misssed an At the Drive-In reunion in 2017 (I missed everything in 2017) and it included a new album... so I listened to that first thing and since then I have been absolutely pumped. If only we weren't also so sick in this house. I've listened to it 2.5 times already, but I'm trying to refrain. The songs are still so good when I know them, but it's special when music can buffet me back and forth with its changes while I'm growing familiar with it.

The concert is on the Wednesday before the wedding, the night before Des comes in. So, gonna be a big week.

Between this and yesterday's conversations reinforcing trust, boundaries, and how to talk sexy to strangers on the internet, I'm positively buzzing.

"Somebody shoot me while I'm happy!"