rwd fwd
msg on the dl
random! older
current

no, i didn't forget

19 April 2002
2:58 pm

I remember a day when I went to go grab my work shirt out of my dryer (that was still spinning as I opened the door) and almost broke my arm in the process. I went to work and began writing a news article on it.

I remember a couple weekends ago I went to a wedding in St. Pete with my dear far-away friend Jon (who I would thank again for saving me the other night, but he is not around) and it was lovely and beautiful as it as at the Renaissance Vinoy hotel and I had never seen the place nor had I been to a wedding. The morning of the wedding, I was driving down I - 275 at eight o' clock in the morning and some renegade squirrels darted across the interstate and paused as they saw me and a large hunk of metal barreling down the road at sixty miles an hour. It was a good thing it was eight o' clock on a Sunday morning or I would have been rear-ended when I slammed on the brakes.

I remember driving back and forth from St. Pete that weekend and The Doors came on the radio and that made me think of Erin and that made me smile because though I have never met or even spoken to the girl she writes about things that are in my own head, and when I read them my eyes get wide because, oh, didn't I just think that the other day.

I remember being very emotional the other night and very irrational as well and I was going to sit here and type until my fingers bled but instead I talked to Jon and to Mike and while I came here to write so I would finally have some emotion to look back and feel again instead of the same uninvolved bullshit but I am sure of the fact that they helped me out more than I would have myself.

I remember driving down Fort Harrison following someone towards Tim's house with my windows down and the five o'clock hour sun everywhere made me smile and a great song was on and for four minutes and six seconds, I couldn't have been happier. I turned the volume up to Very High and then back down to Really High so it wouldn't sound so loud.. then up to You'll Be Deaf By 30 and when I realised I had never turned the radio up as loud as it could go, it became The Greatest Noise in the World.

I remember sitting and wanting to write about things I have done but have never talked about but not knowing what it was all about- whether it was for shock value or confession or just wanting to write about something I haven't written about.

I remember opening the newspaper and seeing a headline and laughing out loud because now I was a statistic and isn't it funny that I was reading this during a period of emotional softness on the whole college subject what with the class I was a part of finishing their freshman year in a few days and all. Coming home to a postcard from UCF that was very excited about fall registration taped to my door last night didn't help much and I actually heard why couldn't I do it come from my mouth even though I am still positive that I would have gotten only worse if I had stayed.

I mean to write. I just never do.