rwd fwd
msg on the dl
random! older
current

Friday Driving To Midnight

17 July 2010
11:58 am




This playlist, you guys. I am both bursting delight and shriveling with nostalgia. I made a mix CD, recorded it on tape when I was still driving the pickup, used the CD once I got the bzzt little Saturn. It was my Friday Night Driving to Coconuts mix. It was perfect. I had my routine. I'd start it as I left the house. Putting makeup on in the car. Smoking out of a little stone pipe or cigarettes--and not or. I'd be passing the mall by the time I was screaming Deceptacon at the top of my voice. Exciting myself. Sitting at the light at Sunset. Waiting to turn. Black box. That show. Every week, every Friday at midnight. Being on stage. Not knowing what would happen. Tupac in the parking lot before I went in, and after. Le Tigre can get me excited but Tupac can give me the confidence I so needed back then.

Oh the music of the first few years of the century. Still remains my favorite.


(I have packing and cleaning and shit to do! Not this listening to music and sitting in my own gut!)