rwd fwd
msg on the dl
random! older
current

Career shit is for the birdies

01 April 2013
6:05 pm

Nothing makes me want to forcequit life quite like looking for a new job. I still have my current job, but am miserable and recognize I am at the point where I will want to quit soon. I appreciate that I've not been sabotaging myself -- because hello, this is a shitty mall job, fuck you -- and that I am giving myself the opportunity to look for a new job while I still have one.

But what the fuck. I have no discernible skills. Millennials with college degrees increasingly find themselves working in high-school jobs. But their plight isn't even mine. I have no degree. I've invested myself in customer service "skills," which is basically a personality flaw (like me please dear god like me) dressed up as a crock of shit.

Am I to just accept that I am going to bounce around until I figure it out? That every 12-18 months I will reach my limit and move onto something else, until I figure out what the crap I'm supposed to be contributing to society? We are service oriented now. We do not appreciate trades or craftsmen. Perhaps I should move to Japan and build boats or raise silk worms.

Sarah got to quit midwifery, man. She got to quit school and all the years worth of applying herself to an outmoded ideal, and now she gets to be present in her body instead of sitting on her own shoulders, watching herself react to life. I don't think I've ever been so envious. I am the lady who considers it virtuous to quit as many things as possible, because it means that I've tried a lot, and when finally I arrive at something I want to keep, I'll know for certain it's a sure thing.

How I'll get there with a resume full of "stewing in her own stomach acid" and "works hard for four months, then gradually transitions to sitting in the bathroom for an entire day," I can't say.

Have faith?