rwd fwd
notes diaryland
random! older
current

"plummeting... birds?"

27 June 2023
9:17 am

My suspicion about the squirrels is correct. We had so many in the yard last year, so many little lawn dolphins leaping around, and I've seen very few this year.

Some months ago I had a terrible walk - there was still ice and snow on the ground in some places - but it was punctuated by two eagles soaring in lazy circles, and I swear they were followed by what looked like two hawks. I don't know if eagles and hawks hang out, but that's what it looked like.

I've seen one hawk swooping around the neighborhood, sometimes in one of our trees or sitting atop the shed. It's a big boy.

Or girl. While I was gone, Dan saw both of them sitting on the back porch. Along with 2/3 of a squirrel they left there for a whole afternoon after he startled them. Luckily they came back for it.

Nature is a pain in my heart, folks. I love watching those damn squirrels. But, hawks! In my yard! How cool!


The stay-away was nice. Made me remember my hotel days. I did even less than I expected. There was a thunderstorm that rattled the windows. It scared me a little, being not at home, but there was no room under the couch with the dog. Still, the rain was needed, and I'm glad it came. It has been too dry.