rwd fwd
msg on the dl
random! older
current

conch shells and strolling

22 September 2009
1:14 pm

The sky is getting a little brighter now, but on my way to the store it was grey and lovely and chillier than it has been lately and it felt and smelled like the kind of air that happens before snow. As I thought that, I saw it, I felt the air colder than it was and the breeze stinging my cheeks and my ears, the tip of my nose and my fingers, I saw the piles of snow pushed along the sidewalk to make room for cars and brave people shuffling toward bus stops. I'm kinda excited for winter, but I'm more exicted for fall, which is on its way to me as I write this.

Soon enough you'll hear me whining for spring, don't worry.

I am going to make it a priority, once I get back to work and start making real money again, to join a dance class. I can feel it rattling in my bones, this lack of movement, this lack of rhythm and if I lack the confidence/talent to join/start a band, then dance class it is. My iPod was being rather nice to me on my walking trip and every song made me want to dance, to sing, to shake; and so, I was choreographing in my head, could see myself ten steps ahead of myself, working it all out, and if you passed me on the sidewalk then I'm sorry, because you joined in as well before you went on your way.

Sometimes placing your music player on shuffle is more synchronistic, more serendipitous than the radio, and I love it for all it's worth. Here now I shall recount for you the tunes that went into shaping my lovely dancetime walk, where I did not so much dance as wiggle my hands as though I were playing instruments because I just.cannot.help.it.

Britney Spears - Toxic
Outkast - The Way You Move
Gnarls Barkley - Storm Coming (don't know I've ever really listened to this song before, but i LOVED it and should like to put it in a mix with Eli's Coming, which I do not currently have in my library and need to remedy IMMEDIATELY)
Celebration - War
Yo La Tengo - Beanbag Chair
Murder By Death - The Organ Grinder
Nina Simone - I'm Gonna Leave You
Tori Amos - Heart of Gold
R.L Burnside - Long Haired Doney
Tricky - Strugglin' (this started playing as I was getting back onto the city sidewalk from the store and OOH that made me happy)
The Roots - Without A Doubt
and then I skipped a few because I was not in the mood for Armin van Buuren's actual dance music and got to
Modest Mouse - Space Travel Is Boring
Ilya - Annette
which I stopped upon entering the house because the new Star Trek movie was on the television.

Last night I dreamed of a leaky ceiling over our orange carpeted stairwell, but a dream stairwell that was double the height and length, but not too steep and because of the leaky ceiling, along the sides grew moss and conch shells.

Why do I keep dreaming of conch shells, ever since I dropped lil Ganesha into the river (may he have reached Mississippi by now)? This is the second time, if not the third.